Forgot your account information?  |  Create a CME account

June 3 members-only briefing summary

Published by Brad Fougere on June 03, 2014

Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters President and CEO Jayson Myers held a quarterly conference call to update members on policy priorities and the state of the Canadian economy, June 3.

The hour-long update included a call to action for many of the participants as the Ontario provincial election closes in and with 2015 bringing a federal election. The accelerated capital cost allowance and a re-tooled temporary foreign worker program, in the face of pressure to cancel the program, were the major issues Myers requested support.

Remaining competitive with US in the face of pressure for manufacturers to expand or move their operations into aggressive states policies offering incentives for relocation was a voiced concern from the participant side of the call with other questions surrounding the training of skilled workers, rail access for exporting manufactured goods and investment and innovation support.

As well, concerns related to the Buy American provisions related to the procurement process in the US and the status of progress with the Canada Job Grant and the partnerships between industry and colleges were discussed.

Myers kicked off the call with an economic update highlighting the growth reported for the first quarter of 2014 in manufacturing. Not since the healthy growth rates reported post-recession in 2009-11 has the performance been as strong, Myers said.

The call also included a heart felt appeal for continued support for donations to the Jim Flaherty Bursary set up at UOIT specific to students with special needs in programs related to manufacturing. Donations can still be made by contacting and tax receipts are available.

The next members-only briefing will take place Sept 10 and is free for all CME members to participate in, to register visit:

Found in: policy

National Office

Alberta British Columbia
Manitoba New Brunswick
Newfoundland & Labrador Nova Scotia
Ontario Québec
Prince Edward Island Saskatchewan