Forgot your account information?  |  Create a CME account

New trade opportunities demand combined effort to maximize benefit for Canadian exporters

Published by Brad Fougere on October 10, 2014

Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters (CME) welcomed the call to action issued today to Canada's business community by International Trade Minister Ed Fast.

In a speech to the Economic Club of Canada Fast said Canada needs to move quickly to take advantage of the new export and investment opportunities that are opening as a result of Canada's new Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) with the European Union and Free Trade Agreement with South Korea.

"There is tremendous potential in these markets for Canadian business,” said CME President and CEO Jayson Myers. “Now is the time to take advantage of the new opportunities they offer.”

CME is already playing an active role, in collaboration with Export Development Canada and Canada's Trade Commissioner Service, in identifying qualified leads for business and technology partnerships in Europe and other countries through the Enterprise Canada Network.

"It's all about identifying good opportunities, following up, and especially supporting small businesses in reducing the risks of going into new markets," Myers said.

Collaboration is key. Canada's Trade Commissioner Service, Export Development Canada, the Canadian Commercial Corporation and the Business Development Bank of Canada, are all there to provide valuable support for small- and medium-sized exporters as they expand in international markets.

"By working together, we can offer Canadian exporters the services they need to capitalize on new business opportunities around the world," Myers said. "We look forward to working with our partners within government and the business community to connect Canadian companies with the opportunities and the support they require to succeed in international markets. That's good for jobs across Canada."

For more information about the Enterprise Canada Network, check out

Found in: ECN trade

National Office

Alberta British Columbia
Manitoba New Brunswick
Newfoundland & Labrador Nova Scotia
Ontario Québec
Prince Edward Island Saskatchewan