Forgot your account information?  |  Create a CME account

CME partners with Government of Canada to address skills gap

Published by Brad Fougere on April 16, 2014

CONCORD, ON – Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters (CME) recently announced a series of initiatives, in partnership with the Government of Canada, to help narrow the skills gap in Canada. Together with Minister of Employment of Social Development Jason Kenney, CME President and CEO Jayson Myers made the announcement at Siemens Ruggedcom plant in Concord on April 12, 2014.

“Nearly 50 percent of manufacturers face labour shortages, which is having a significant impact on economic output and undermining long-term performance,” Myers said of the initiatives that will fall under the Manufacturing Skills Centre. “Competitiveness is all about people—skilled people—and the CME's Manufacturing Skills Centre will ensure that our Canadian companies can match the right skills for their needs.”

“Our government’s top priorities are creating jobs, economic growth and long-term prosperity. By supporting these projects, we are helping more Canadians put their skills to work,” Minister Kenney said.

The projects include Skills Lab, an online initiative to open discussion on challenges, successes and policies related to training the manufacturing workforce. Technical Awareness Commitment Engagement and Alternative Careers (TACE), a job referral service to connect internationally trained engineers, technicians and technologists with positions. CertWORK Plus, a program that functions on the prior learning educational premise that workers with skills but lacking certification can provide a portfolio and assessment to receive their deserved certification. And a labour market information program aimed at identifying and addressing regional skills shortages, training programs and providing networking opportunities to share best practices learned through the research program.

More information on the programs can be found at

Found in: Skills gap Manufacturing

National Office

Alberta British Columbia
Manitoba New Brunswick
Newfoundland & Labrador Nova Scotia
Ontario Québec
Prince Edward Island Saskatchewan