Forgot your account information?  |  Create a CME account

Canadian – U.S. Harmonization of Skill Standards and Certifications

Published by Brad Fougere on September 29, 2015

September 29, Windsor, ON -  At the annual conference of the North American Strategy for Competitiveness (NASCO) today,  the Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters (CME) and the U.S. Manufacturing Skill Standards Council (MSSC) signed a Memorandum of Understanding to announce the harmonization of their respective standards and certifications for front-line manufacturing production workers.

CME and MSSC will also initiate communications to their respective manufacturing communities encouraging them to recognize both the MSSC Certified Production Technician (CPT) and CME Production Assemblers and Operators certifications as equivalent credentials that can:  

·       Facilitate cross-border worker movement for job assignments

·       Promote equivalent hiring and promotion processes

·       Provide preferential consideration to individuals possessing these credentials

·       Create common performance metrics and consistent work practices for the front-line workforce in supply chain companies

·       Enhance the international recognition of both CME and MSSC credentials.

“Harmonization of skilled worker skills accreditation with our largest trading partner and closest ally is an important step for both countries that are facing skills shortages related to an aging population. We look forward to continued cooperation with the MSSC on aligning standards on what has become a top priority on both sides of the border.” – CME President and CEO Jayson Myers

"This harmonization should facilitate the development by manufacturers in both countries of world-class front-line workers with the skills needed able to meet the dual challenges of global economic competitiveness and accelerating technological change." - MSSC Chair and CEO Leo Reddy

Found in: Skills gap

National Office

Alberta British Columbia
Manitoba New Brunswick
Newfoundland & Labrador Nova Scotia
Ontario Québec
Prince Edward Island Saskatchewan