Forgot your account information?  |  Create a CME account

Manufacturers, labour support extension of job sharing

Published by Derek Lothian on November 08, 2011

Leaders representing Canadian manufacturers and exporters and the Canadian labour movement are pleased that the federal government will extend for one year a job sharing program allowing workers who would otherwise have been laid off to work part time and receive EI benefits.

Ken Georgetti, president of the Canadian Labour Congress, and Jayson Myers, president and CEO of Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters, were responding to remarks made by Mr. Flaherty in Calgary on November 8th.

Georgetti says, "We welcome the fact that Ottawa is extending the employment insurance work sharing program. This is crucial at a time when the economy is slowing down and unemployment is likely to rise."

Myers says, "Work sharing under EI requires the agreement of both workers and employers, and represents welcome government support for positive workplace solutions to prevent layoffs."

Georgetti and Myers noted that work sharing arrangements under EI have involved almost 300,000 workers and and almost 11,000 employers since 2008, averting thousands of layoffs.

They said they would like to see a continuation of flexible program rules which have made it easier for employers and workers to access the program, and hope that such arrangements could be used to promote training of workers to meet future skill needs.

Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters (CME) is Canada's largest industry and trade association, representing businesses in all sectors of manufacturing and exporting activity across Canada. Its mandate is to promote the competitiveness of Canadian manufacturers and the success of Canada's goods and services exporters in markets around the world.

The Canadian Labour Congress, the national voice of the labour movement, represents 3.2 million Canadian workers. The CLC brings together Canada's national and international unions along with the provincial and territorial federations of labour and 130 district labour councils.


Found in: news cmenews

National Office

Alberta British Columbia
Manitoba New Brunswick
Newfoundland & Labrador Nova Scotia
Ontario Québec
Prince Edward Island Saskatchewan